ETIAS requirements for New Zealand citizens

Documents required to obtain ETIAS for New Zealand citizens

From 2022, New Zealand passport holders wishing to travel to Europe will need to register with the European Travel Information and Authorisation System.  ETIAS is a visa waiver programme designed with safety and security in mind, it will allow European authorities to check whether citizens of New Zealand and other non-EU nations are eligible to enter the Schengen Area.

Upon approval of the ETIAS and entry into the Schengen Area, travellers from New Zealand will be able to enjoy unrestricted movement within the border-free region. ETIAS will be valid for stays of up to 90 days in a 180-day period.  New Zealand citizens do not need to reapply for ETIAS each time they visit Europe, multiple trips can be made using the same permit provided the 90-day limit is not exceeded.  The permit is valid for 3 years, or until the passport expires.

The ETIAS waiver will be completed entirely online. This means that New Zealand passport holders will not have to visit a consulate or embassy and will be able to apply for entry into the Schengen Area from anywhere in the world, not even needing to be in their own country.

ETIAS requirements for New Zealand citizens

New Zealand citizens are eligible to apply for the ETIAS waiver to the Schengen Area. Below, ETIAS applicants can find a list of requirements that each traveller must have:

  • A valid passport either from New Zealand or another ETIAS approved country.
  • A credit or debit card, which will be used to pay the ETIAS application fee
  • An active email address to which all notifications and correspondence will be sent

It is important to remember that each traveller must complete the ETIAS application form accurately and truthfully or run the risk of having their application delayed or denied.

The ETIAS application process for New Zealand citizens

In addition to paying the ETIAS application fee by credit or debit card, New Zealand nationals applying for the ETIAS waiver will need to provide the following information:

  • Personal information that will include the traveller’s full name, their date of birth, their place of birth, and their gender.
  • Contact details including their current residence, email address, and phone number.
  • Passport details including the passport number and country of issue, the date of issue, and the date of expiration.
  • Travel plans regarding which country they will enter and which other countries they intend on visiting.

In addition to the information mentioned above, travellers may also be required to provide answers to questions dealing with their criminal record and health.

If the ETIAS application is accepted, the applicant will receive an email notification and the permit is linked to the passport electronically.  The ETIAS is verified when the passport is scanned at the border, the final decision on whether to allow a foreigner to enter the Schengen Area lies with officials.

While European authorities anticipate an acceptance rate of around 95%, the possibility remains of a denied application. In the event of a denial, an explanation for the rejection will be sent via email, and the traveller will have the right to appeal the decision. Appeals and final decisions will be made directly to the individual Schengen member country that the traveller stated they intended to enter first. The appeals will be managed according to the laws of that country.

Why the need for ETIAS?

The European Commission believes that ETIAS will make for a far more efficient and secure Europe. ETIAS will protect the visa-free privileges of citizens of New Zealand whilst boosting border security. The decision to implement the system was made in 2016 following the rise in terrorist attacks on the continent. Authorities believe that the ETIAS will make Europe safer, not just for its citizens, but for those who wish to visit the continent as well.