ETIAS visa waiver requirements

Applicants will need to meet the ETIAS requirements to obtain the visa waiver. Find out what documentation travelers will need to successfully apply for ETIAS.

Basic ETIAS visa waiver requirements

There will be some basic ETIAS requirements which travelers will need to meet to obtain an ETIAS visa waiver. Each applicant will need to be a citizen from one of the ETIAS eligible countries, complete the online application without inaccuracies or mistakes, and possess the following:

  1. A valid passport with at least three months remaining from the date of arrival.
  2. A credit or credit card to pay the ETIAS application fee.
  3. An up-to-date email address to receive the ETIAS visa waiver.


etias requirements

Personal information requirements for ETIAS

Travelers will need to enter a range of personal information to complete the ETIAS application form. The required information will include:

  • First item
  • Personal information: e.g. full name, date of birth, place of birth, and gender.
  • Contact details: e.g. address, email address, and phone number.
  • Passport details: e.g. passport number, issue and expiry dates, and nationality.
  • Travel plans: including the member state of the intended first entry.

There will also be some security-related questions regarding criminal activity and other sensitive background information, as well as questions regarding the health of applicants.

ETIAS eligible countries

There are currently more than 60 countries which will be eligible to apply for ETIAS. The list of countries may continue to grow in the future.

ETIAS or Schengen visa?

At the moment, nationalities who cannot enter the Schengen Area visa-free (ETIAS) need to apply for a Schengen Visa. They can be obtained in embassies and consulates of any Schengen member state.

Schengen Visas are designed for short stays and allow visitors to spend up to 90 days (in any 180-day period) in the Schengen Area. As there are no hard borders between the 26 Schengen members, visitors can move freely between them.

As a general rule, travelers must apply for a visa at a consulate where they legally reside and meet the Schengen visa requirements. As part of the application it is necessary to state which country or countries you intend to visit and for how long. Applications cannot be submitted more than three months before a trip to the Schengen Area.

Once ETIAS has been implemented, certain nationalities will no longer need to apply for a Schengen Visa as they will be apply to apply for ETIAS. The online application process will save travelers the hassle of going to an embassy or consulate.