ETIAS for Portugal

ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorization System) will come into effect in 2021. Travelers from ETIAS-eligible countries who travel to Portugal or any other Schengen country will need to obtain an ETIAS visa waiver for Portugal.

The online ETIAS application will be simple and the whole process will not take longer than several minutes. Applicants will just need to fill out the form and pay a fee using a credit or debit card. It is necessary to have a valid passport from one of the eligible countries to apply.

ETIAS visa waivers will be valid for three years and will allow visitor to enter the Schengen Area for periods of up to 90 days. ETIAS will allow multiple entries into the zone as long as the total amount of time spent in the Schengen is not longer than 90 days (in any 180 day period).

ETIAS is being introduced to make the Schengen Area a safer place for both locals and visitors. Many cities across Europe have been struck by terrorism in recent years. By screening applicants during the ETIAS registration process, potential security threats will be prevented from entering.

Portugal, the EU and the Schengen Area

Etias Portugal Portugal is on the Iberian Peninsula in Southern Europe. It borders Spain to the north and to the east and has an Atlantic coastline of 943 kilometers to the west and south. It is one of the oldest countries in Europe and has a complex, fascinating history.

It has been a member of the European Union (EU) since 1986 when it was still known as the European Economic Community (EEC). It is a beautiful country with a unique, charming appeal.

How to apply for ETIAS Portugal?

To successfully apply for ETIAS Europe, travelers will need to complete the online application form. They will need to meet the basic ETIAS requirements for Portugal and pay a fee using a credit or debit card.

The online application for an ETIAS to Portugal will include a series of questions. Applicants will have to enter information such as their names, address, date or birth, and passport details. The approved ETIAS will be sent by email.

Passport and document requirements for Portuguese ETIAS

Applicants will need to meet the general ETIAS requirements and to be a passport holder of one of the eligible countries to apply for the Portuguese ETIAS. The list of ETIAS-eligible countries currently stands at 60 countries though more may be added.

ETIAS visa waivers will no longer be valid if the applicant’s passport expires. It will necessary to renew ETIAS as ETIAS cannot be transferred between passports. People with two passports will need to use the same one to apply for ETIAS and to enter Portugal.

Travel information about Portugal

Portugal attracts around 13 million tourists a year for many reasons. Lisbon and Porto are both culturally-rich, picturesque destinations which are perfect for city breaks and the Algarve is a popular region for beach holidays. There also Portugal’s stunning islands: Madeira and the Azores islands which are truly breathtaking.

Portugal has a rich history. It had a vast, colonial empire which began in the 15th century and included territories in the Americas, Africa, and Asia. Its location on the Atlantic Coast also gave it tremendous importance in terms of exploration and trade.

There is something for everyone in Portugal. The cuisine is exquisite and, in particular, it is renowned for its seafood. There are grand palaces, historic cathedrals, modern resorts, and momentous landmarks.

ETIAS will allow people to visit Portugal for business purposes as well as for tourism. There will not be a separate Portuguese business visa. There will also not be a need for a Portuguese transit visa when coming from another Schengen country (as people can move freely between the Schengen member states).