Schengen countries that will require ETIAS

There are 26 Schengen countries who have a singular, shared border. Travelers can move freely between them once they have gained entry into the Schengen Area. Learn more about the region and find out which nations are included.

What is the Schengen Area?

The Schengen Area is an area which consists of 26 neighboring countries which have abolished passport and all other types of border controls at mutual borders. There are effectively no hard borders between the participating countries, only a singular, shared border.

The Schengen Agreement was signed in 1985 by ten European countries and a further 16 countries have joined since then. The Schengen Area and the European Union (EU) are two separate entities. Not all Schengen members are in the EU and not all EU members are in the Schengen Area.

In total, the Schengen Area has a population of over 400 million people and covers an area larger than four million square kilometers. Many travelers can currently enter the region without a visa, others need a Schengen Visa. This will change for many nationalities with the introduction of ETIAS for Schengen countries.

Schengen countries list

Currently, there are 26 European countries that form part of the Schengen Area (ETIAS countries). Twenty-two of the twenty-eight EU countries are included (the UK and Ireland are the two main opt-outs) and there are four non-EU Schengen members (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland).

ETIAS eligible countries

Currently, there are more than 60 eligible nationalities that will need ETIAS to travel to Europe by the end of 2022.